Joey le Soldat

Posted: September 12, 2015 in English
Tags: , ,

If you’re into rap music like Mafia K1 and generally the sound of the suburbs of French cities, and you
think you have the balls to go one step further, than you are ready for the dude called Joey Le Soldat!
Dead Grips would probably sound similar if they came from Burkina Faso. Yes, this is the place from
which this serious, real bad motherfucker comes from! Rhymes are black as the continent which created Joey Le Soldat. The album is called “Burkin’ba” unf unfortunately I don’t understand either of two languages that Joey Le Soldat and his mates raps on. And they are rapping on French language and the other language that is present in this west African country. Fuck, I am not educated enough, and we don’t have internet here in prison so I can’t tell you which language is in question.
The fact that I don’t understand what they are rapping about cannot stop me to completely freak out on the sounds that are coming from my headphones.
And don’t be mislead with my comparison with Dead Grips. This is still hip hop. Nasty, dark, and very interesting hip hop. You can feel the street, the anger, the uprising and revolt. And then, you can feel Africa. The real one, tortured, troubled, raped, and not the one you would see on the Animal Planet show. There are no antelopes, it smells like machetes.
The beat is spacy and “good for trippin” as one of my inmates would say.
Oh, and no mistake, I received this album from a friend of mine from Paris, and he knows what Soldat is talking about, so this will not turn out to be some sicko with who’s story I would disagree.
I do not know who is the publisher, and where you can find Burkin’ba. Internet is unbelievable, you can
manage finding it!

Comments

Leave a comment